Spring Is On the Way

My poor little blog – I haven’t posted for over a month! And, even worse, before tonight I hadn’t done any knitting since I got home from Dallas. Between being sick twice and being addicted to solving puzzles in Professor Layton and the Curious Village, I just haven’t been spending any of my (very limited) free time on knitting these past couple of weeks.

The good news is that I finished the left mitten while in Dallas. The bad news is, it’s too small. I’ll try washing and blocking it – I suppose it’s possible that it’ll bloom enough to fit. If it does, I’ll try to make the second one quickly. More likely, those two balls of yarn will get stashed away in the drawer and the mittens will have to hibernate until fall. Who wants to knit mittens when spring is finally trying to come?

On the other hand, scarves can still be warn on cool spring mornings and evenings, and I have really been wanting to try out the Malabrigo, so I cast on for the My So Called Scarf tonight. I started and ripped out several times before I finally figured out what I was doing, but I’m pretty sure I’ve got it now. I’m about six rows in, and the herringbone pattern is clear. I think I’m going to be happy with this when it’s done. Now, though, it’s time for bed.

This entry was posted in Knitting, Life in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spring Is On the Way

  1. Sherry says:

    I was on Knit Pick and immediately recognized the oboe. I knit and play oboe, also. I’m not sure if one helps the other or not. I am out of practice at both. I started playing oboe when I was 12 and I’m 58 now! I majored on oboe, while getting a music education degree at Univ. of FL. Now, I only play occasionally, usually in church. I do love the oboe. It is special, don’t you think? Did you ever learn to make reeds? It is so much more satisfactory! I am trying to remember if I didn’t have a book that helped. I took lessons from a member of the Florida Symphony and she mostly taught me. Too bad we aren’t close I’d be glad to teach you. I’m in VA now. If I can find the reed book I’ll be glad to share the title of it. Good luck with the knitting and oboe playing.

  2. reedsandstrings says:

    Hi, Sherry! It’s so nice of you to have come over here to say hi! I love meeting other oboists. I majored in oboe, too, and graduated almost six years ago. I’ve just been playing here and there since then.

    Sadly, no, I never learned how to make reeds. In college I had three teachers in four years, and they all said, “we’ll work on reeds later,” then left. Nice. If you do remember a book that helped you, I’d love to have the title. I know that I really just need to find a teacher, but in the mean time (there just aren’t many oboe teachers around here) I could get a start figuring it out on my own.

    Thanks again for coming by to say hello! Are you on Ravelry? If you are, I’m over there too, as reedsandstrings. There’s a double reeds community that just started up there – you might enjoy it!

  3. val says:

    check this out! i saw it and thought of you. =) it looks ridiculously time consuming, but how hilarious would it be to knit a reusable grocery bag out of a bunch of not reusable ones??!

    http://www.needlepointers.com/displaypage.aspx?ArticleID=34452&URL=http%3a%2f%2fhellejorgensen.typepad.com%2fgooseflesh%2f2007%2f02%2fplastic_bag_yar.html

Leave a Reply

